Italian Phytopathological Society (SIPaV)

Milan, 16-18 September, 2019

Dear Colleagues,

we are pleased to announce the XXV edition of the Congress of the Italian Phytopathological Society, which will take place from 16th to 18th September 2019, at the University of Milan.

The event will be held in the Main Lecture Hall (Aula Magna) of Ca' Granda, a monumental complex from the 15th Century in the heart of the historical city centre.

For this edition of the Congress, the discussion will be focused on hot topics in Plant Pathology introducing the upcoming International Year of Plant Health in 2020.

Sophien Kamoun will open the Congress with the talk entitled “The Edge of Tomorrow — Plant Health in the 21st Century”.
The assignment of the SIPaV “Giovanni Scaramuzzi” 2019 Award for PhD students will give the opportunity to the winner to present her/his dissertation. 

The first day will end with the Aperiposter session, which aims to highlight the research presented, in poster format. Food and drinks will favour friendly discussion among the authors and participants. At the end of the evening, three posters will be given the “Best Poster” award. The winners will have the opportunity to briefly explain their scientific achievements from the podium of a “speaker's corner”.

The second day will be opened by Marc Fuchs with the talk entitled “Emerging Viruses on Grapevine”. The third session, introduced by Nian Wang, will focus on the original topic of Candidatus Liberibacter asiaticus, an emergent pathogen that is currently taking advantage of our ignorance. The General Assembly of SIPaV will take place at the end of the second day before the social dinner.

The last session will be opened by Serge Savary, who will speak on “Plant Health and Global Food Security”. Finally, a round table will take place on the issue of the role of Plant health for food security. 

Monday morning 16th September, before the beginning of the Congress, a satellite event organized by a PhD student committee will take place at the same venue. 

application for abstract submission extended

to 30 June 2019

payment must be received within 10 days of acceptance notification

Piero Attilio Bianco
Paolo Cortesi
Maria Lodovica Gullino
Santa Olga Cacciola
Vittoria Catara
Gianfranco Romanazzi

Paola Casati
Franco Faoro
Marcello Iriti
Andrea Kunova
Matias Pasquali
Fabio Quaglino
Marco Saracchi
Silvia Laura Toffolatti